Skip navigation
Banner: Jump directly to the Hamfiles Site News Forum

Kenwood TK-3400U16P Protalk

Can the firmware be changed?

Hey all, I'm somewhat new to all this and am fumbling my way through trying to program some radios. We currently are using a bunch of different Motorola radios (most of which are CP150s, CP200s, and some CP200Ds) and recently found the Kenwood TK-3400 Protalk radios to meet our requirements.

Originally we only had 4 users who were going to be using the Kenwoods and they didn't need to talk to the Motorolas but then we noticed that one of the 90 preprogrammed frequencies in the Kenwoods matched one of our licensed frequencies that we are using with the Motorolas so we decided to see if we could program all of our licensed frequencies into the Kenwoods. We then discovered the issue we're having, in that the software won't let us program the radios as anything other than "Protalk" so we can't actually input the frequencies we need.

We want to keep using the Kenwoods and are considering phasing out the Motorolas with the Kenwoods because they are much more affordable and we like their performance, however, is there any way to change/update the firmware on the Kenwood radios to allow us to program them as LMR models? We spoke with one of the vendors that we have bought Motorola radios from in the past and they said that they could program the radios for us for a fee. Or, is there anywhere that we can just buy the LMR versions of the radios outright so that we can then program them ourselves? I haven't had any luck finding anything other than the Protalk models online.

Thanks for any help or advice.
Back to the top

Try google and look at the kenwood tk3400 manual ... the 74 page version. It has a frequency table that shows Kenwood / Motorola compatibly frequencies and if I am not mistaken there are only 4 channels that work between the 2.
Back to the top